Bishop McCort Catholic High School

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu

Named Scholarships

2021 Named Scholarship Luncheon

Named Scholarships benefit qualifying McCort students. To establish a Named Scholarship, a commitment of a gift of $500 or more for four consecutive years is required and allows the donors to create the scholarship in their name or the name of a loved one.

With a named scholarship, your entire contribution is awarded each year to a qualified student. Without this support, some students would be financially unable to attend BMCHS.

Each fall,  Bishop McCort Catholic High School recognizes the Named Scholarship Program at a luncheon at the high school.  The luncheon provides the opportunity for our thoughtful and generous Benefactors to meet their scholarship recipient(s) and for our student scholarship awardees to meet and personally thank the individual or family for their commitment and support of their Catholic education.

Listed below are named scholarship options:

Bridge ($500 per year): Bishop McCort Catholic High School families are sincerely grateful for any amount of tuition assistance. Nearly 7% of the cost of a Bishop McCort education will be covered through a Bridge scholarship.

Endeavor ($1,000 per year): An Endeavor scholarship will provide significant support for a Bishop McCort student. Almost 15% of tuition cost will be alleviated through generous support of this type of scholarship fund.


Reach ($2,500 per year): Nearly 35% of a student’s tuition will be supplemented through a Reach scholarship. Each year, a qualifying student/family will be relieved of almost half of the financial burden of receiving high quality Catholic education.


Lift ($5,000 per year): An investment of $5,000 will have a tremendous impact on a BMCHS student and supplement approximately 70% of their tuition. Students meeting specific financial guidelines will be awarded a Lift scholarship.

Click at the bottom of the page to establish your named scholarship.

Named Scholarships 

  • Ray and Nancy Rizzo Fund--The Ray and Nancy Rizzo Fund is a “donor advised fund” established through the Community Foundation for the Alleghenies.  This fund supports financially eligible students in the Lift Johnstown Scholarship Program as well as provides tuition assistance for several students through a named scholarship.  Ray and Nancy Rizzo not only believe that education is empowerment, but also that the future of Johnstown is in the promise of today’s youth.
  • Altoona-Johnstown Catholic School Teachers Association Scholarship
  • Nick and Donna Antonazzo Family Scholarship
  • Louis R. and Catherine Aust Family Scholarship
  • Timothy and Rebecca Babik Family Scholarship
  • Michael Babyak Scholarship
  • Martha Rybar Banda Scholastic Scholarship
  • Barbara Ruth Boxler and James Boxler Scholarship
  • Denis M. Brett Memorial Scholarship
  • Betty Lee and John W. Burkhard Scholarship
  • Edward J. and Marie E. Burkhard Scholarship
  • Caring Friends Scholarship
  • Catholic Daughters of the Americas Court of Our Lady #647 Scholarship
  • Very Rev. James F. Crookston Scholarship
  • Daniel J. and Rosemary B. Crossen Scholarship
  • Margaret Curley Skalek and Geraldine Curley Scholarship
  • Louise Antonazzo Davanzo Scholarship
  • The John DeFazio Scholarship for Drive and Initiative Presented By Jason Horner ‘98
  • Thomas F. and Michele Deter Scholarship
  • William Deter '53 and Roberta "Bertie" (Balazik) Deter '55 Scholarship
  • John J. and Mary Jane (Link) Dougherty Scholarship
  • Piatak Dressel Scholarship
  • Mary Ann (Erlinger) and Julie Ann Luther Scholarship
  • Charles & Josephine Freidhoff Scholarship
  • Patricia Morgret Fyock Scholarship
  • Fred Garbinski Family Scholarship
  • James Gaus Memorial Scholarship
  • Paul and Cathy Rullo Gleason '77 Scholarship
  • Greeley Family Scholarship
  • Msgr. Linford F. Greinader Memorial Scholarship
  • Louis and Marcia Guzzi Scholarship
  • Joseph and Helen Hart Memorial Scholarship
  • James F. Horner Scholarship
  • Hummel Family Scholarship
  • JCHS Class of 1956 Scholarship
  • JCHS Class of 1959 Scholarship
  • Johnstown Catholic Religious Educators 1945-1951 Scholarship (Special Acknowledgment to Sister Vincentia)
  • Robert J. Jones Memorial Scholarship
  • Rose and Andrew Kasprzyk Memorial Scholarship
  • Leah Kessler Scholarship
  • Louis F. Kitsko, Jr. Memorial Scholarship
  • Frank and Ann Kmec Memorial Scholarship
  • Coach William "Doc" Kory Scholar-Athlete Scholarship
  • Robert D. Krizner Scholarship
  • Gary Labos Memorial Scholarship
  • L'Education en Vogue's Unification Scholarship Honoring “Mads”
  • Maravalli Family Scholarship
  • Leo G. and Agnes Markferding Scholarship
  • Helen and Ronald McCormick Memorial Scholarship
  • Martha F. (Lloyd) and William G. McGovern Scholarship
  • Gertrude Mowery-Karr Scholarship
  • Marianne Newcomer Scholarship
  • Bob and Joan Ondick Scholarship
  • Indira J. Patel Memorial Scholarship Fund
  • Bill and Mary Grace Pavlick Scholar-Athlete Scholarship
  • Paul and Rebecca (Roberts) Pendell Scholarship
  • Francis and Betty Petro Scholarship
  • Michael and Josephine Piatak Memorial Scholarship
  • Otto and Vera Respet Scholarship
  • In memory of Donald J. Roach/Nancy Roach-Gurdak Academic/Athletic Scholarship
  • St. Andrew's Knights of Columbus Council #11308 Scholarship
  • Denny Sedei Memorial Scholarship
  • In Memory of Patricia A. (Klesch) Seitz '56 Scholarship
  • Rick and Sue Seitz Academic Incentive Scholarship
  • Gerard T. Sheridan Memorial Scholarship
  • The Howdy Sherman/Shorty Maher Scholarship
  • John Skubak, Jr. Scholarship
  • Slezak Family Scholarship
  • Ann Harris Smith Memorial Scholarship
  • Matt Smith and Molly Morris Scholarship
  • Thomas G. and Nancy Smith Scholarship
  • Robert M. and Judith Toronto Statnick Scholarship
  • Charlie Turner Memorial Scholarship
  • Monica Sukenik Scholarship
  • Joseph and Bessie Sweeney Memorial Scholarship
  • Van D. and Kathleen P. Thomas Memorial Scholarship
  • Felicia Toth Scholarship
  • Joseph “Casey” and Stella Urban Scholarship
  • Andrew M. Voytas Memorial Scholarship
  • Dr. John P. Walker Scholarship
  • Robert H. and Mary Lou Walker Scholarship
  • In Memory of former JCHS Band Director Walter W. Werzyn, Sr. Scholarship
  • Yingling Family-Commitment to Catholic Education Scholarship
  • Zambotti Family Scholarship

Questions? Please contact:
Jeanne Feathers
Director of Marketing and Communication
Email: [email protected]
Phone: 814.248.3885
Fax: 814.535.4118

2018 Named Scholarship Luncheon
2017 Named Scholarship Luncheon