Bishop McCort Catholic High School

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu

EITC/OSTC and Special Purpose Entities Tax Credit Program

The Educational Improvement Tax Credit (EITC), Special Entity program and Opportunity Scholarship Tax Credit (OSTC) program are excellent opportunities for your business to support Bishop McCort Catholic High School! Through this program, you can send your tax dollars to Bishop McCort, helping students further to take advantage of the wonderful education that Bishop McCort offers!


What is the PA Educational Improvement Tax Credit (EITC) Program?   

In 2001, the PA General Assembly established the EITC program to promote expanded education opportunities for students in the Commonwealth.  Each year, the Pennsylvania Department of Community and Economic Development (DCED) sets aside millions of dollars in tax credits through the EITC program allowing eligible Pennsylvania businesses to reduce their state tax liability by making charitable donations to approved nonprofit  organizations such as Bishop McCort Catholic High School.


These tax credits are a dollar for dollar reduction of actual

taxes owed...better than a tax deduction!  A win/win situation!

You can change the life of a student by reallocating your tax

dollars to our Catholic school community!


What is the Opportunity Scholarship Tax Credit (OSTC) Program?

The OSTC Program provides scholarships to eligible students who wish to attend a participating public or nonpublic school of their choice.  Students, who live within the attendance boundaries of a low-achieving school as determined by the Pennsylvania Department of Education, are eligible to receive an opportunity scholarship provided they also meet the household income criteria. Currently Greater Johnstown Middle School and High School, Shade Central-City, and Turkeyfoot Valley Area are defined as “low achieving” schools. Bishop McCort Catholic High School is an approved opportunity scholarship organization.


Pennsylvania now allows for a new kind of business

partnership, a Special Purpose Entity (SPE), to take part in the EITC program.


What is a Special Purpose Entity?

A Special Purpose Entity is a new class of pass-through partnership that exists solely for the purpose of earning Educational Improvement (or Opportunity Scholarship) Tax Credits.  It is easy to get tax credits by joining an SPE by simply signing a joinder agreement, which reserves your tax credits for the year.  You complete the process by contributing your tax dollars to the SPE’s scholarship organization rather than the state.  The final act is to make your contribution by December 31 in order to receive the tax credit for the year.



Additional details about these programs are available on the right side of the page.  


Click here to learn more about the EITC/OSTC program directly on the PA Department of Community and Economic Development website.


Contact Jeanne Feathers, Director of Development, Marketing and Alumni Relations, at [email protected] or 814-248-3885 to discuss EITC/OSTC and Special Purpose Entity tax credit opportunities.


2022-23/2023-24 EITC Participants:
Associates in Family Eyecare, LTD
Brett Insurance
Tom Deter, ‘82 and Michele Deter
John P Walker, DMD '84
East Hills Commons, LLC
Employers Medical Access Partnership (
First Commonwealth Bank
First National Bank of PA
Michael P. Gress, DOS, PC '85
Inco Beverage, Inc.
Anthony & Susan Kamnikar
Kongsberg Protech Systems USA
Laurel Ford
Laurel Imports, Inc.
Laurel Motors Holding Co.
Marcus & Mack personal injury attorneys in Johnstown
Martella’s Pharmacy
Francis Matten, ‘77
McIlwain School Bus Lines & Charters, Inc.
Mihalko’s General Contracting, Inc.
Modern Art & Plate Glass Co., Inc.
North American Hoganas Holdings Inc.
Northwest Savings Bank
Pappert-Garver Realty & Michael & Monica Garver
Robindale Energy Services, Inc.
Matthew Smith, ‘92
Michael Smith
Team Kia
WPP Dough Company, Inc.
Jodie & Corey Bair
James Brumbaugh
Hindman Funeral Homes
Kathleen Martella-Zucco '88
Christopher '91 & Erin Martella
Ken Salem '87 & Lee Salem
Timothy '76 & Toni Clark 
John & Julie Coyle
Dr. William & Mary Carol Herbick
Dr. Thomas & The Honorable Linda Fleming
Ryan Gindlesperger '02
Dr. Tammy Haslett
David Horten '86
So Yeun Horten
Samantha & Michael Kozak
Thomas McAneny
Joseph McAneny
Charles Merlo III
Louis Mihalko III
Allegheny Orthodontic Associates LTD
American Insurance Marketing Group LLC
iDrive Interactive LLC
Seward Operating LLC
Frank & Jennifer Bailey
Joshua & Jill Berkebile
Brian & Christa Curtis
Brenna Durst
Jeanne Feathers
James & Jennifer George
Randy & Roberta Stiles
Terry & Jill Straka
Michael & Jennifer White
John & Terra Delia
Jonathan & Helene Gleason
David & Michelle Neumann
Richard & Tisha Phillips
Tom & Sherry Smith
Chad & Amy Stigers
Jennifer White